public beta
Choral Composition Competition

IFCM Composition Competition 2017

Press release

The IFCM Choral Composition Competition has reached its conclusion. This is the third edition organised by the International Federation for Choral music with the aim to promote the creation and wide distribution of new and innovative choral repertoire. IFCM keep in great consideration the composers and their intellectual work.  The jury, made up of Ko Matushita (Japan, President), Oscar Escalada (Argentina, member), Dominick DiOrio (USA, member), Josep Vila (Spain, member) and Ambrož Čopi (Slovenia, Member) rated 181 works submitted by composers from 5 continents. The winner of the first prize has been the piece titled 'NUR' by the Spanish Juan Manuel Conejo Gonzales. Second place went to the Polish composer Jakub Szafrański with the work 'Falling Stars' and the third place for Benedikt Brydern (USA) for the piece 'Miserere'. The three winners will receive a money prize, a diploma and a trophy that will be awarded during the IFCM Choral Expo, which will take place in 2019 in Portugal. Finally, the three winners will be interviewed for the Federation choral magazine, the ICB.  Further information on

ICB Bulletin

Official magazine of the International Federation for Choral Music, the International Choral Bulletin is published quarterly in the four official languages of IFCM: English, French, German and Spanish. It is distributed in more than 80 countries on the five continents and is the official voice of choral music around the world.

Read more
Global Choral Calendar

Our focus at the moment is to unite the choral calendars of international choral organisations. Meanwhile please consult the calendar of choral events published by the European Choral Association - Europa Cantat here.

Read more